Swan Valley Tigers Stomp Neepawa Tigers

Submitted by:
Leigh Osatchuk |

The sun was out, the wind calmed and the stands were over capacity with fans as the Swan Valley Tigers and the visiting Neepawa team stood for O’Canada.

This was the start of a very glorious day.

Click any picture for a larger version.

Everyone who came out on Saturday, Novembr 1, 2014 and paid their $2.00 admission got their monies worth as the Swan Valley Tigers stomped the Neepawa Tigers in the Rural Manitoba Provincial Final.

The game was underway with Swan Valley putting 7 points on the board early in the first quarter. #24 “Crazy Legs” Kyle Johansen burnt up the field running plays with the help of our offensive line. The SV o-line were just too strong and too solid for their defense. Some fancy foot work on our part and slight player error on theirs seen a beautiful interception by # 88 Eric Klein who was able to take the ball all the way to the end zone! Touchdown SV Tigers! When we break at the half we are ahead of Neepawa 21-0.

Returning to the field for the third quarter the Neepawa team demonstrated they were not finished. Their defense began to hit harder, and their offense began to run faster.

They proved they were in the provincial final, because they earned their way there with smart playing and finally put some points on the board with a terrific run for a touchdown and a 2 point conversion, the score sitting 21-8. Our boys answered quickly with another touchdown 28-8. Neepawa seemed to want blood and quickly scored leaving it 28-14 midway through the third. #32 Brendon Gilroy and #30 Cole Cameron made running the ball look easy as they darted and dodged to help dominate the entire fourth quarter. The Neepawa Tigers slowly lost their steam as the boys from the Valley continued to score until the whistle was blown.

The final score of 44-14 for the Swan Valley Tigers.

Fans, players and coaches rejoiced, these boys captured the title of The Rural Manitoba Football League Provincial Champions!

The annual awards night and banquet will be held on Tuesday, November 4th where these gentleman and coaches will be recognized for their outstanding efforts.